The Mystical Theology of the Eastern Church

I find Trinitarian theology hopelessly obscure but this is the best explanation I have seen.

I never heard of the “Filioque” before, I will have to look this up.

The Orthosphere

[Some time ago, I asked readers for recommended reading on their branches of Christianity.  Below is my understanding of Eastern Orthodox theology, as gathered from Vladimir Lossky’s “The Mystical Theology of the Eastern Church”, one of the books recommended to me.  This is the second in a series as I work my way down my reading list.  Orthodox commenters should be considered to have more authority than me on this topic, and I will gratefully take their correction.  The goal of this post, and I hope of the subsequent discussion, will be to accurately describe the Orthodox faith, rather than to criticize or defend it.]

Lossky’s book was first published in French in 1944, so Thomist Catholicism is naturally the tradition to which he most often compares his own, and the “individual” vs. “person” craze of that era definitely left its mark.  These points of familiarity will aid western readers…

View original post 1,152 more words

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Mystical Theology of the Eastern Church

  1. Bruce

    Don’t mean any offense but I’m surprised you haven’t heard of the filoque. It’s the primary reason for the great east-west schism.

  2. Fr. John+

    It’s also the reason the West is in the mess it is in, at least from the standpoint of a historical/philosophical study of the Filioque by Dr. Joseph Farrell- his tome, ‘God, History, and Dialectic’ should be read by anyone intersted in this issue.

    https://godhistorydialectic.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

